Top 3 Favorite Drummers:

3.) Kim Schifino

Matt & Kim are hands down the coolest two-member band to have ever existed. If you disagree, your argument is invalid. I had first heard of them when Mark Hoppus of Blink 182 announced that they would be touring with them. I didn’t know it at the time, but Kim booty dances (excellently by the way) at every performance, sometimes even in/on the crowd. So naturally, it wasn’t long before Mark got in on this and tweeted this hilarious video. God bless these two. I then started doing some research on this band and came across a music video for the song “Cameras”. This video not only had me freaking out, but laughing hysterically, and just questioning there sanity. This, like all of their music videos, are extremely awesome. Kim’s creative drumming beats, and seemingly effortless way of just being awesome, is what makes her one of my all time favorite drummers. Her and Matt make an epic pair, and I can’t wait to rock out with them next month down in Tampa! Can you tell that I’m excited for this concert? (Check out concerts that I will be attending this Fall at the very bottom of this blog)

Top 4 Fav. Songs: (Camera’s, Good For Great, Daylight, Block After Block)

2.) Rob Bourdon

Everything changed for me when I seen Rob, and the rest of Linkin Park, perform live in January of last year. Nothing can describe the feeling you get from seeing your all time favorite band perform live for the first time, but it’s extremely inspiring. So much so (for me) that I remember wanting to be just like them. It was like something turned on inside of me that day, like I finally knew what I was sent here to do. So, from that point on, I worked harder on finding a job and making enough money to buy my very own drum set. Shortly after purchasing a cheap beginners set (to see if I could even play) I realized that I could actually do so! So, I started saving for an even better one and just six months later, I felt confident enough in my drumming to spend $800 on my amazing six piece, Imperial Star, TAMA set. I practice on it nearly every day, and I feel like I have Linkin Park to thank for that. I will never forget the night I seen my 6 hero’s perform live (best night of my life), but Linkin Park never disappoint- whether it’s studio albums, music videos, their philanthropic work, or performing live, picking them as my all time favorite band was never a hard decision.

Top 4 Fav. Songs: (Pushing Me Away, Lost In The Echo, Breaking The Habit, No More Sorrow)

1.) Phil Collins

Between Phil Collins’ solo work, music made with the band Genesis, and his scoring in various films, it’s no question as to why Rolling Stone has put him near the top of their, “100 Greatest Drummer’s of All Time” list. Just the score alone for the film “Tarzan” could be enough to deem him as one of the greats. Phil is truly amazing, but what sets him apart from most drummers, is his voice. “Beautiful” would be a great word to describe his other-worldly vocal talent. I don’t know of many singers who can drum and sing as well as he can. So, even though Rob could very easily be my absolute favorite, I just have to give the number one spot to Mr. Collins. My top 4 favorite songs by him would have to be: I Don’t Care Anymore, Son Of Man, In The Air Tonight, and Against All Odds. “You’ll Be In My Heart” is another truly amazing song from the film Tarzan. I strongly suggest you not only check out Phil’s discography, but Rob and Kim’s as well. These three are truly amazing musicians, and you won’t regret purchasing their music. Linkin Park have released their 5th studio album entitled “Living Things”, and Matt And Kim’s newest album “Lightening” will be released in just five days! So, go make some purchases and thank me later!

~Shay

2 thoughts on “Top 3 Favorite Drummers:

  1. Pingback: I Am A Drummer. | A Pug And I

  2. Pingback: Matt And Kim Concert @ The Ritz Ybor | A Pug And I

Got An Opinion?