Why Doesn’t MTV Play Music Videos Anymore – A Response

shayadams:

I totally get what you’re saying. It was actually MTV that introduced me to you guys.

I grew up in a pretty religious household and wasn’t “allowed” to watch MTV. But one day, my parents weren’t home and i turned it on. The instant I did Breaking The Habit was starting on top 40. I just sat there with my mouth wide open in amazement- was love at first site. I set an alarm on my watch to stop whatever I was doing so I could turn MTV back on, JUST to watch BTH. By the end of the day I had memorized every lyric to that song and Linkin Park had gained another LP soldier. ;) So, I really have MTV to thank for that. And even though they air some undesirable shows, I will always cherish the very first moment i ever heard you guys.

Originally posted on Mike Shinoda's Blog:

Some of you have been seeing and passing around the link for this video, which is called “Why doesn’t MTV play videos anymore?”  It’s pretty funny:


Super funny, right?  But…in case any of you were thinking of taking it too seriously (I see you on Twitter)…in all fairness, MTV didn’t really switch to reality TV format ONLY because people started file sharing.  A major factor was actually that playing videos didn’t allow them to get consistent ratings, since people kept switching stations.  Kids might watch a couple videos they liked, but if a video came on that they didn’t, they would switch the channel.  And then they might not come back, because most likely they changed the channel to a 30-minute program that they’d watch in entirety.  So MTV changed to a format that allowed them to get ratings (and make more money, plus entertain people with “shows about vapid…

View original 140 more words

Got An Opinion?

